Taconic Murda

51wG9yMJzGL._AA160_

I really enjoy reading debut authors. There is something special in finding a new author that shows promise by penning a book that engages you from the beginning, but also holds enough quality to show that as the author grows the level of his writing will increase and he may end up as one of the top writers in a genre.

I picked up Taconic Murda by Uriel E. Gribetz and I believe I just read one of those authors. The book was one that shows Gribetz has a major career ahead of him.There are many aspects of the book that put Gribetz on the “Must Watch” list that I love to add new authors to.

I picked this book up due to the blurb by Jason Starr and I was not disappointed. As with many debut authors, Gribetz shows he has a strong foundation in which to build a successful writing career, but he also shows areas that could be improved upon to make for a more tightly plotted book.

The plot of this book was enjoyable. The book centers on Sam Free, a cop in New York who gets into trouble when he refuses to compromise himself in order to get a conviction for the local DA. His refusal, coupled with some bad choices of his own doing, set the plot in motion. The story follows Free and his family as they try to move forward, but seem to be pulled back into the past no matter how hard they struggle to escape its clutches.

My biggest issue with the book is the reliance on coincidences to connect plot points and to move the plot along. Personally, I don’t like it when there seems to be areas of a plot that are connected and explained only through the use of continued coincidences and I felt this happened a tad bit too often in this book.

Overall, it was a good, engaging read and I will certainly look to read other books by this author. Gribetz shows a lot of promise. I liked his dialogue and I felt his main character was believable and exhibited actions that were understandable and relatable. Quality start for a new author!

One thought on “Taconic Murda

  1. Thank you for your honest and forthright review. I’m so happy you enjoyed it. The next novel in the Sam Free series, Hunts Point, should be out by the end of the year, and I will certainly let you know when it comes out. It was very kind of Jason Starr to write the blurb, especially since I don’t know him other than reading his books. Best wishes, Uriel E. Gribetz

    Like

Leave a Reply

