Watch You Drown by Chris Rhatigan

WYD_Rhatigan

I was going through my unread Kindle books and came across a book I had meant to read a while back and just lost it in my To Be Read pile. I am glad I came across the book because Watch You Drown by Chris Rhatigan was a great read. It is a collection of 14 stories that were all entertaining. There are a few pieces of flash fiction and a bunch of short stories.

The collection opened with a bang and I found In the Hard Nowhere to be a great introduction to the unpredictability of the stories that followed. This tale of a criminal with a conscious has an ending that was far from predictable and mundane.

The story Skinny Latte was a great tale of revenge against an overbearing parent and, again, had an ending that I didn’t see coming. This ending was as funny as it was shocking.

Anyone who has ever worked in the service industry will love Service with a Smile. Since I have worked in that industry, I felt for the main character and felt his patience slipping away with every interaction he had with the customers within the toy store he worked at.

My favorite offering in this collection was Kleptomaniac. This story is a great cautionary tale that proves your past is never to far in your rear view mirror.

All in all, this is a great collection of fast paced stories. I notice that it is not available on Amazon any longer and it doesn’t seem to be available on the publisher’s website either. This deserves a reprint and perhaps All Due Respect Books may put it out as a reprint in the future. I will keep my fingers crossed because this collection deserves some attention.

Recommended.

Leave a Reply

