White Knight Deserves a Big Audience

51sg2hi-j7L._AA160_

She walked into the office ahead of her boyfriend- the leash visible to everyone but her. …The fading bruises on the woman’s face and arms, the lingering swelling around her eye, and the scabbed lip all said that she was one of mine.- White Knight by Bracken MacLeod

 

I just read a book that floored me. I mean really sent me for a loop as I thought, “Where the hell did this guy come from?”. Although I have never read anything by him before, I have finally had my eyes opened to the great writing of Bracken MacLeod.

This novella packed one hell of a punch and has left me loopy and seeing stars. It centers on a white knight, a local prosecuting attorney who tries to secure convictions against spousal and child abusers. As this white knight tries to help all those who can’t help themselves, he eventually tries to help the wrong woman and pays a hefty price for his trust. He finds himself in a race against time to save the love of his life and attempting to avoid his own demise.

The beauty of this book is it asks the question what would you do if the ones you love were threatened? How far would you go to help those who have no voice to stop the violence around them? Not only does he bring those questions to mind in this book, but MacLeod also wrote a book that will have your fingers burning as you fly through the pages towards a climax that leaves you satisfied and looking for more books from MacLeod.

The aspect of the story that I loved the most was the notion that a man with a moral compass that is set to do the right thing is sometimes left with choices that don’t allow him to choose between black or white. This story shows how life is usually lived in the grey area in which we rationalize the actions we take and skew them to fit our perspectives.

This book is strong; strong in plot, strong in characters, and beating with intensity. If the goal of an author is to entertain a reader and also get them hooked as life-long readers of their future works, MacLeod won on both levels. I was invested in the book and couldn’t stop reading if my life depended on it. Even better, I found an author that really showed me he has writing chops and I can’t wait to sink my teeth into all the books he has written and will write in the future.

Highly recommended.

2 thoughts on “White Knight Deserves a Big Audience

Leave a Reply

